WCHQ News Releases

Would you like to receive our news releases?

Send an email to subscribe to the WCHQ monthly newsletter and news releases.

News Release Sign Up

Aspirus Receives WCHQ Top Quality Award

June 20, 2018

Recognized for exceptional quality improvement, leadership

The Wisconsin Collaborative for Healthcare Quality (WCHQ) presented Aspirus with its first award for excellence in quality improvement leadership at WCHQ’s annual Statewide Quality Improvement Event June 19 in Madison. Lynn Mercier, Mike McGrail, MD and Susan Schneider, MD accepted the award on behalf of Aspirus.

WCHQ annually honors a select number of member organizations for superior clinical performance and patient outcomes. This was the first year, however, that WCHQ recognized one organization for exceptional quality improvement, active engagement with WCHQ’s work and mentorship of other organizations. One of the considerations WCHQ’s Quality Planning Committee took into consideration in their criteria for this award was Aspirus’s exceptional improvement across many of the WCHQ measures and their participation on WCHQ Steering Teams.

“Aspirus is a high performer across many of the quality measures WCHQ scores, but their willingness to share what they know with other organizations and help them improve the quality of their patient care demonstrates their commitment to ensure all Wisconsin’s citizens have access to high quality care, no matter where they live,” according to WCHQ President/CEO Chris Queram.

WCHQ is dedicated to helping health care professionals improve the quality and affordability of health care through collaboration, sharing best practices, and publicly reporting information that health care organizations can use to benchmark and compare their performance. WCHQ’s membership includes Wisconsin’s integrated health systems, hospitals, medical clinics and independent physician groups. Visit WCHQ.org for more information.

Greg Blommel, MD, (left) WCHQ Board Chair and Chris Queram, (right) WCHQ President, present a quality leadership award to, Mike McGrail, MD, Lynn Mercier and Susan Schneider, MD, from Aspirus.

Back to Blog >>

Blog Categories


Physical address

301 S. Westfield Rd.
Suite 320
Madison, WI 53717